【Oita Art and Culture Tour | OITA Art&Culture】Art Performance Videos

2021.03.31 classical music

Argerich Foundation for the Arts|Shiiki Argerich House Chamber Music Series "What I want to tell you now" Vol.18 Surrounded by soothing sounds

Date February 28, 2021 (Sun)
venue Shiiki Argerich House Salon


The "Beppu Argerich Music Festival" was launched in 1998 as an arts and culture project of Oita Prefecture. “Queen of the Keyboard”“Living Legend” Martha Argerich, a world-renowned pianist of genius, is the general director of the festival, which is held every year and is called the "Treasure of Oita.
The Shiiki Argerich House was presented to Martha Argerich by Masakazu Shiiki, Honorary Director of the Foundation, as a token of respect and affection, along with Argerich's special piano, the Martita. The house is the only one of its kind in the world, named after Argerich, and as a bridge to Argerich, we transmit the joy of music and her spirit.

The theme of the 2020-21 Argerich House Chamber Music Series, held in the Corona disaster, was “What I want to tell you now”. The musician's thoughts will be conveyed through music. In this, we hope that you will feel that music is with people and that it is wonderful to "share" through the exchange of hearts.

This year's concert, the 18th of its kind, features Yoshiko Kawamoto, Japan's leading viola player and Argerich House Resident Artist, and Tomoki Sakata, a talented pianist who is active in a wide range of fields.

We hope you will join us to share in the joy of music created by the resonance of these two talents.

[Contents [Contents of recording]
C. Franck: Violin Sonata in A major (arranged by Yoshiko Kawamoto/viola version)
C. Franck: Violin Sonata in A major (arranged by Kawamoto Yoshiko/viola version)
C. Franck: Violin Sonata in A major (arranged by Kawamoto Yoshiko/viola version)
F. Poulenc: 15 Improvisations No. 15 in C minor "In Praise of Edith Piaf" (arranged by Tomoki Sakata/viola version)
F. Poulenc: 15 Improvisations XV in c minor “Hommage a Edith Piaf” (arranged by Sakata Tomoki/viola version)


Kawamoto Yoshiko, viola/Shiki Argerich House Resident Artist
Kawamoto Yoshiko, viola, won the highest prize at the 1992 Geneva International Viola Competition. She won the highest prize in the Viola Division of the 1992 Geneva International Competition, the Muramatsu Prize in 1996, the Fresh Artist Prize of the 7th Nippon Steel Music Award in 1997, and the Encouragement Prize of the TonenGeneral Music Award in 2015. She is a member of the Kyoto Arti String Quartet and the AOI Residence Quartet. He graduated from Toho Gakuen School of Music and was invited to participate in the Tanglewood Music Festival in 1989 and 1990, and switched to viola in 1991 when he joined the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra, where he was principal from 1999 until his retirement in 2002. He has been invited to perform at the Tanglewood Music Festival and the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra.

Tomoki Sakata Sakata Tomoki, piano
Sakata Tomoki, piano Tomoki Sakata won the first prize at the 2016 Franz Liszt International Piano Competition in Budapest and six special prizes. He is a member of the piano department of the Soloist Program at the Hannover University of Music, Theatre and Media. Youngest winner of the 14th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. She has appeared on NHK's "Lala Classic", "Album of Masterpieces", TV Asahi's "Untitled Concert", TBS's "Celebrity Rating Check", TV animation "April is Your Lie", NHKFM, J-WAVE and many other media. In March 2020, she released an album of ambitious arrangements, including world premiere recordings, and was awarded the 2017 Yokohama Cultural Prize for Culture and Art Encouragement. (He is a recipient of the Ezoe Memorial Recruit Foundation Scholarship and the RMF Scholarship.


The Corona disaster occurred as society was deepening its confusion.

"Art is not a solitary thing.
"Art is not a solitary thing, but a thing that exists together with people. This is a quote from Argerich.

This is the first time that I have been able to listen to the music of Argerich.
I believe that the essence of art lies in its spirituality. It awakens the important spirit that makes us human. This is why the art that has been passed down from our great ancestors needs to be passed on to the future as a legacy of humanity, and I believe that it has a great impact on the way people feel and live.
The arts are the foundation on which society is built, and they also lead to the development of important "people".

When we envision the world after the Corona disaster, I believe that our society will enter a new turning point.

I believe that music's important mission is to play a part in the creation of a mature society where people are at the center of the world.

Here in Oita, we were surrounded by the breath of the West during the Warring States Period.

We are pleased to announce the release of our new album, "The Muse," by Martha Argerich.

With a strong sense of the "miracle" that history has led us to, I believe that the spirit of tolerance will nurture a rich heart and give birth to a peaceful society of "living together.

Argerich and I are always thinking about "art in society" and sincerely hope that classical music will help to create a society full of hope and light where "people are in the center".

The arts change the world.

Let's create a new era together.

  • Shiiki Argerich House Salon

  • Shiiki Argerich House Salon

  • Shiiki Argerich House Salon

  • Shiiki Argerich House Salon

  • Shiiki Argerich House Salon

  • Shiiki Argerich House Salon

  • Shiiki Argerich House Salon

  • Shiiki Argerich House Salon

  • Shiiki Argerich House Salon


The concert was as creative as Corona. It was an empowering art. I was strongly attracted to their performance and I thank them from the bottom of my heart.

I am looking forward to the chamber music series at Argerich House because I can hear wonderful performances in a hall with good acoustics. Kyoko Ito's talk is also rich in content and I look forward to it every time. Current message "Music and SDGs" is also an important thought. I hope that we can create a day as soon as possible when we can freely touch, work, and enjoy music concerts. Today, Frank's violin sonata (viola version) was especially wonderful. It really touched my heart.

It was a time that made me feel so happy. The conversation between the piano and viola was fun and beautiful.